New Kilmore Diocesan Pastoral Council meets for the first time

Bishop Leo O’Reilly recently convened the first meeting of the new Kilmore Diocesan Pastoral Council which will serve for a term of four years.

He welcomed the new members and thanked them for their willingness to participate on the Council which is consultative and advisory in nature.  He explained that the Council, which was first established in February 2001, is a representative body of the faithful which works in close partnership with the bishop to further the mission of the Church in the Diocese of Kilmore.  It will concern itself primarily with people and with building up the faith, hope and love that cements them into a real, living and caring Christian community.

The Council comprises of the Bishop, the Vicar General, the priests in charge of the four deaneries, one lay person from each of the twelve pastoral areas in the diocese, and the Diocesan Vicar for Religious

The members of the 2018-2022 Kilmore Diocesan Pastoral Council are:

  • Bishop Leo O’Reilly
  • Monsignor Liam Kelly, PP VG
  • Mary Corby
  • Marian Corcoran
  • Christopher Dooley
  • John Paul Feeley
  • Peter Galligan
  • Sr. Kathleen Gormley
  • Marie Guckian
  • Fr. Oliver Kelly, PP VF, Manorhamilton Deanery
  • Rose Abby McGarry
  • Fr. John McTiernan, PP VF, Cavan Deanery
  • Fr. Seán Mawn, P VF, Ballinamore Deanery
  • John James Meehan
  • Bronagh Prunty
  • Fr. Michael Router, PP VF, Bailieborough Deanery
  • Aileen Smith
  • Michael Swords

In addition, the following will attend meetings in an advisory capacity:

  • Seán Coll, Director of the Kilmore Diocesan Pastoral Centre
  • Suzie Duffy, Diocesan Safeguarding Director
  • Carina McGinnell, Diocesan Director of Youth & Young Adult Ministry
  • Fr. Ultan McGoohan, Diocesan Director of Pastoral Services & Adult Faith Formation