Pastoral Development




Boundaries of Pastoral Areas in the Diocese of Kilmore 2010-2014


After consultation with the Diocesan Pastoral Council and the priests in their deanery groupings between November 2009 and March 2010 the following were agreed as boundaries for Pastoral Areas in the Diocese of Kilmore until the next review in 2014:

  1. Kinlough – Ballaghameehan – Manorhamilton – Glenfarne (The Cois Farraige Pastoral Area)
  2. Dromahair – Inishmagrath – Killinagh – Ballinaglera (The Shannon-Lough Gill Pastoral Area)
  3. Killesher – Kinawley – Knockninny – Templeport – Kildallan (The Border Pastoral Area)
  4. Corlough – Oughteragh – Carrigallen – Killeshandra (St. Brigid’s Pastoral Area)
  5. Drumlane – Annagh – Castletara (The Annalee Pastoral Area)
  6. Urney and Annageliff – Kilmore – Ballintemple
  7. Crosserlough – Denn – Laragh – Lavey
  8. Drung/Kill – Drumgoon – Knockbride – Killann – Kilmainhamwood
  9. Killinkere – Lurgan – Castlerahan – Mullagh


Pastoral Area Leadership

  1. A pastoral area leader is to be appointed to administer each of the nine areas.
  2. The duties of the pastoral area leader to include the following:
    1. To organise at least four meetings of the pastoral area clergy (and pastoral assistants) each year
    2. To ensure that these meetings have a pre-arranged agenda and that minutes are taken by the secretary
    3. To ensure that pulpit exchange weekends are organised at least four times per year
    4. To look after care of priests issues in the pastoral area
    5. To arrange cover for priests within the pastoral area in cases of illness or family bereavement
    6. To make arrangements for the establishment and running of a pastoral area pastoral council
    7. To rationalise and organise the Mass times so that the priests within the pastoral area can provide adequate cover even if two of their number are absent through illness or bereavement
    8. To be the pastoral area contact person for the Bishop, the Diocesan Office and the Diocesan Pastoral Team.